News‎ > ‎

Big Tommy Nominations for Once Upon A Mattress

posted Nov 22, 2016, 1:12 PM by Jeffrey Wolf   [ updated Mar 6, 2017, 7:40 AM ]

By: Megan Cichon, Entertainment Editor

Posted November 22nd, 2016

Ladies and gentlemen, the Tommy Nominations are in. For those readers who don't know what the Tommy Awards are, they are the equivalent to an Oscar for high school musicals. Following the successful referendum vote for a new music wing at Slinger High School, the theater department was eager to put on an incredible performance. And according to judges, an incredible performance was delivered.  

Dylan Winslow (Prince Dauntless), Matthew Mehl (Sir Harry), Joelle Hackney (Lady Larken), Jena Monroe (Princess Winnifred), Jaden Schmidt (Queen Aggravain), Darius Miller (Minstrel), and Phillip Steenbekkers (Jester) all received nominations for Outstanding Lead Performances. Riley Laetsch (Wizard), Sam Friedemann (Sir Studley), and Justine Horst (Nightingale of Samarkland) were nominated for Outstanding Supporting Performances. Renee Wagner and Kali Hottenroth were nominated for Outstanding Stage Contestants. Howard Husslein was nominated for Outstanding Scenic Design, and Lori Matasek was nominated for Outstanding Costume Design. Congratulations to all nominees!